I can’t explain how much I love my mission.

From May 23, 2016

Dear friends: my mission—I love it. I can’t explain how much I love my mission. It used to be a love/hate thing, but now I just love it. From all the suffering and pain it put me through, and all the things I have learned, I love it.

I remember that back when I had done a division (switching companions for a day) with my best friend in the mission, Elder Hunt. I remember that in this division I was rather confused about how thoughtful he was about his mission, thinking about what he had learned and how much he had grown. This week I have had a lot of thoughts like that. Ever since the mission president interviewed me, I was thinking about how I am going to end my mission and how it will reflect on my life after and the years to come. It’s been driving my crazy and gives me drive to do more and more. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!

This week we helped little Wesley to be baptized. We had found him in the street and had asked him if he wanted to be baptized without explaining what it was. He said yes. We were a little taken aback, but we marked his address, and we returned to say a prayer with his family. We met his mom and his stepfather, who we will help to marry here in a little bit. We learned that although Wesley is 8 years old, he is as smart as a 12-year-old.

IMG_6319

I have never seen someone so antsy to be baptized. While we were waiting for the other ward to finish baptizing so we could start our baptismal meeting, and in the moment that all the people who were being baptized in the other ward were descending in the water, Wesley started to push and pull me (I was dressed to baptize him) almost yelling that he wanted to me baptized right now, and that it would be faster if we just went right hen. I couldn’t help but laugh out loud. But this was a wonderful experience to teach and baptize this little crazy kid. Hahahaha—he is awesome!

IMG_6322

I hope you all are well back home! I love you all!

One thought on “I can’t explain how much I love my mission.

  1. Hope you can stay connected with Wesley…will be cool to follow him. I can’t wait to see you, Elder Burt (hard not to just say David). You have done so well and your attitude is a wonderful example. I was thinking of your siblings the other night and reflecting on how your example is helping them and will help them when they serve.
    I am so impressed with Gentry and how he and Tanner serve as they take the sacrament to the shut ins…they “get it”…stay and visit and make a difference to the people who can’t come out. Seeing people serve the Lord helps us all do a better job and be stronger…it’s a ripple effect.
    Have a great week. You are loved, prayed for, and missed. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

