There’s no way I am going to give up. Ever.

From March 28, 2016

I moved back to Sorocaba, and my new companion is Elder José. I am really close to Arvore Grande where I was earlier in my mission. We opened the area, so we started with no information or people to teach in the area. I will tell you more about it in the coming weeks.

IMG_5958

We celebrated the transfer by making some French toast. (What longing for that sugary taste of diabetes!!!!!)

IMG_6041

We cried! Thanks for sending the maple syrup flavoring! It doesn’t exist here!

IMG_6043

Before moving, here we took some photos with our zone:

DSCN0019

This is how they pack things in Brazil:

Foto0076

On to new adventures in Sorocaba!

IMG_6016

From April 11, 2016

It is really hot here.

Three weeks have passed with a lot of sweat, blood, work, and time, but very little has happened. We opened the area and the previous elders hadn’t left much for us to work with, so we had to start from the bottom or use old reports to find people to teach. We visited less active members and people that the missionaries were working with until 2 years ago.

Nothing.

One think that I am noticing about our area is that it is very small. Everyone here already knows us. . . . It is just a matter of time before we find someone who wants to listen to us, but in the meantime, we are still knocking.

It reminds me a lot of how much Christ will knock at our door and wait for us to open. How long will we wait to answer the door?

But you can’t ever get discouraged. If there is one thing that I will learn from my mission; it is what I have said from D&C 123:17. I came to the mission with this focus and I am gonna leave with it. But here I have definitely had the chance to internalize this scripture—to really think about what it means to do all things cheerfully. There is no way I am going to give up, that’s for sure. Jamais (ever).

It was very good to hear the talk by Jeffrey R. Holland on Sunday. He talked about how tomorrow the Lord would do marvelous things.

So I guess we will keep going with our best and the Lord will bless us tomorrow.

These last two weeks were certainly interesting with a trip to the temple and a multi-zone conference. The temple was amazing. I never leave the temple without feeling crazy clean and holy. It gives me such a spiritual boost!!!

The multi-zone conference was crazy because it has been 6 months since the last one—a very long time. We listened to the president, ate, listened to the training of the assistants, ate some more, and we learned a lot of stuff about how to look for people and follow up with them. I was very grateful for the chance to participate in this conference; it was awesome.

But that is the “news from Lake Wobegon” . . . Except that there isn’t any snow, or rain, for that matter . . . hahahaha.

Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

